Wishlist for Fall Bulbs: Allium

Lately, I’ve found a new garden obsession: allium.  I had no idea they came in such a compact form, as when I usually see them in catalogs, the focus is on the overly large, light purple Globemaster variety.

When my eyes aren’t been difficult, J— and I have enjoyed taking long walks without the dogs around the neighborhood, and I’ve stopped at more than one yard to look at these allium up close.  They tend to be scattered throughout the garden with other white, pink, or yellow perennial varieties around the same height.  I like how they seem rather careless in their growth (allium naturalize quite easily), but do not appear messy or overgrown.

These are definitely at the top of my wishlist for Fall-Plant Bulbs.

Photograph courtesy of Tulip World.

2 thoughts on “Wishlist for Fall Bulbs: Allium

  1. Pingback: And Here Come the Fall Bulb Catalogs « Confessions from a Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

