Iris: Multicolored Blooms

About two years ago, I began picking up 3-4 iris rhizomes each July/August from an ebay seller and have had great luck with the variety of colors and sizes.  Even within the basic blue-purple tones of a traditional iris, I still find that bi- and variegated-colors lend an air of cottage whimsy to a green mid-Spring garden.

Each morning these past two weeks, I have excitedly hunted through the garden looking for fresh blooms, as the iris is so delicate that flowers last at most four days before a fresh flower blooms–each with it own unique frills and coloration.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I moved some of my poorly-placed irises this Spring, so the pictures above do not even show all the varieties I will likely have bloom next year.  And my happy bloomers this year should only “be fruitful and multiply” year after year.

 

Leave a Reply

