Iris, Iris, Everywhere

Because the iris comes in such a variety of colors, it was named after Greek goddess of the rainbow: “Iris”.

The irises in my own garden are no exception with their sprays of white, deep purple, blue, lavender, and yellow–so far–as I expect my others to bloom for Mother’s Day weekend.  These plants have not yet reached their full glory as they have only been in the ground for a year or two at most, but are a lovely addition to my May garden.  I find this is rather a “downtime” for perennials as I am between the Spring flush of daffodils and tulips; and the promise of early Summer heirloom roses quickly followed by warm weather plants.  Interestingly, though, the few I have blooming (iris and clematis) are quite grand against the background of fresh green.

Leave a Reply

