My First Rose of Spring

I know this isn’t a real rose (I don’t consider knockouts as “real roses”, I’m a rose snob), but this still makes me happy.

My garden decided to wake up today.  Yes, it has been slowly making a show, but this strange weather appears to be confusing my perennials.  Today dawned quite a humid, warm day to which my garden said, “Time to get out of hibernation!”  Plants that I haven’t seen any sprouts from–like my irises–decided that today was the day to say “hello”.

Each year the blooms of the purple flower above last for almost and month, then fade away.  Although they don’t make much of an impact with their dainty color, they shape is practically prehistoric.

Leave a Reply

